COMMITTEE CHARTERS

Committee: Curriculum Committee

Co-Chair: Meridith Selden, Psychology Faculty

Co-Chair: Daren Otten, Vice President

Purpose Statement (general):

The Curriculum Committee is a standing committee established by the Academic Senate. It is responsible for ensuring the quality, currency, and planning of the College curriculum.

Specifically (focuses on tasks, not theory):

- Under the purview of the Academic Senate, recommends the future direction of the educational program and curricula offerings of the College.
- Promotes development of curricula and courses that meet the identified needs of the students, community, regional work places, and global society.
- Ensures that general education and associate degree requirements are appropriate to meet the goals of the College and the needs of students and the communities the College serves.
- Determines the appropriateness of new and revised course or educational program proposals for departments or disciplines.
- Ensures the quality, consistency, integrity, and feasibility of the College curriculum.
- Ensures compliance with statewide educational policy and articulation with other educational institutions.
- Ensures that all Course Outlines of Record are updated every five years.
- Ensures that courses that have not been offered in more than three years and degrees and certificates that have not been awarded in more than five years are inactivated.
- Assists department faculty in completing appropriate Transfer Model Curriculum (TMC), obtaining Course Identification Number (C-ID) approval, and submitting Associate Degrees for Transfer (ADTs).
- Establishes and monitors the work of subcommittees.
- Examines topical instructional issues of major importance to the College.
- Trains faculty in the use of CurricUNET Meta.

Decision Making Model:

- The Committee operates with the College Shared Decision-Making Model.
- Committee Co-Chairs and members will carry out responsibilities assigned to this Committee and function under the Team Roles as defined in the College Council Handbook.
- Issues outside the Committee will be referred to the Academic Senate for direction/adjudication.
- Members of the committee will solicit input from the campus community and maintain an open dialog with colleagues during all aspects of the college curriculum approval process.

Recommendations go to:

- Academic Senate
- College President
- Vice President of Academic and Student Services

How work is communicated:

- Agendas, minutes and attachments are posted on the Yuba College Curriculum Committee's web site.
- Committee members will communicate with their respective constituent groups.
- Periodic progress reports will be given to the College President, Vice President of Academic and Student Services, and Academic Senate.

Committee membership by position and term of service:

Position	Term	Member
Faculty Co-Chair	Term ends 2020	Meridith Selden
Administrator Co-Chair	Ongoing by position	Darren Otten
At-Large Faculty Curriculum Support Coordinator	Term ends 2020	Carrie Wasinger
At-Large	Term ends 2021	James Gilbreath
At-Large	Term ends 2020	Korey Champe
Part-time position	Term ends 2019	Laura Talley
Part-time position	Term ends 2020	Sal Tolentino
Counseling Representative	Term ends 2021	Lore Dobusch
CTE Representative	Term ends 2019	Denice Burbach
Part-time or full-time CTE Representative	Term ends 2021	Sherry Spina
Fine Arts Representative	Term ends 2019	Aya Ueda
Health/PE Representative	Term ends 2019	Thea Post
Language Arts Representative		
MESH Representative	Term ends 2020	Jeff Stollberg
Social Science Representative		
Academic Dean	Ongoing by position	Carla Tweed
Academic Dean	Ongoing by position	Michael Bagley

Meeting Schedule

- First and third Fridays of the month from 1:00-3:00 (or 4:00) p.m.
- Special meetings as needed with member approval