Standards & Training for Corrections (STC)
Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST)
832 p.c. Peace Officer Orientation

STC Certification: 244-59258 (40 hour); 244-59260 (24 hour)
POST Certification: 4900-80102 (40 hour); 4900-80101 (24 hour)
Certified Hours:  Laws of Arrest (40 hour, 5-days); Firearms (24 hours, 3-days)

Course Interest Form

Course Dates (course dates are always subject to change)

Laws of Arrest (40 Hour Course) Dates: 

Monday, October 11 – Friday, October 15, 2021
Monday, November 29 – Friday, December 3, 2021 — CANCELED
Monday, January 10 – Friday, January 14, 2022
Monday, May 9 – Friday, May 13, 2022
Summer/Fall 2022 Dates TBA

  • Address: 2088 North Beale Rd, Maryville CA 95901, Bldg 2100, Rm 2148
  • Parking Decal is $2.00/day for 5 days or $40.00 for semester – agencies can be invoiced; provide vehicle information; E-Plates Exempt
  • Schedule is Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., 1 hour lunch

Range (24 Hour Course) Dates: 

Friday, October 22 – Sunday, October 24, 2021
Friday, January 21 – Sunday, January 23, 2022
Friday, May 20 – Sunday, May 22, 2022
Summer/Fall 2022 Dates TBA

    • Address: First day from 8a.m. to noon: 2088 North Beale Road, Maryville CA 95901, Bldg 2100, Room 2148
    • Parking Decal is $2.00/day for 1 day (kiosk in parking lot); E-Plates Exempt
    • Range location maps provided by staff (Sutter and Yuba County Range Facilities)
    • Limited weapons available for loan; more information provided upon enrollment/orientation letter

Class Dress Code:

832 Rules & Regulations Revised 06-01-20

  • Classroom
    • Business Casual
  • Defensive Training (8 hours within Laws of Arrest)
    • White, black or navy/dark blue comfortable T-Shirt (vendor of choice)
    • Black, blue or gray sweatpants only; no shorts.  Sweatpants should be loose fitted with elastic bands at ankles; no spandex yoga leggings (vendor of choice)
    • No AJ uniform requirements but if want to purchase, please use our vendor:  King Clothing
    • Mat/Soft Shoes recommended
  • Range Training
    • Handgun Ammo (YC uses Glock 19 handguns if loaners are used) – 750 rounds purchase from vendor of choice
      • 9mm, .40, .45 caliber; reputable manufacturer, semi-automatic, double-single action only
    • Safety Glasses and and ear protectors required
    • Magazine Carrier/Holster (Yuba College, agency issued or provide your own)
    • Gun cleaning kit required
    • Duty Belt must be leather or nylon (do not mix types) – Yuba College, agency issued or provide your own)
    • BDU pants or comfortable blue jeans
    • Black, polished leather, plain rounded toe or comfortable shoes
    • Baseball cap required (vendor of choice)
    • Protective Vest (Ballistic Vest) – Agency or Yuba College Issued

Course Fees:

  • California Resident $46.00 unit x 1.5 units 40 hour Laws of Arrest = $69.00
  • California Resident $46.00 unit x .5 unit 24 hour Range = $23.00
  • Student Fee for semester (one time fee) = $10.00
  • Personal vehicle parking decal (5 days/40 hour) = $10.00 ; (1 day/24 hour) = $2.00 – Kiosk in East parking lot
    • If taking other semester courses, $40.00 semester pass; E-Plated vehicles Exempt
  • POST Workbooks Volume I-V (Laws of Arrest) = $22.52 and/or Volume V (Range)  = $6.45 will be provided as hard copies

*  Sponsored students with out-of-state residency should contact Public Safety.  Information provided is always subject to change.

Enrollment:

  • AJ54A – M2395 (October 2021) – Laws of Arrest
  • AJ54A- M**** (January pending) – Laws of Arrest
  • AJ54A – M**** (May pending) – Laws of Arrest
  • AJ54B – M**** (January pending) – Range 
  • AJ54B – M**** (May pending) – Range
  • Create or update CCC Apply & Yuba College Account — Step 1 (two-step process)
  • Medical Clearance is required for these courses
  • DOJ clearance required for Range
  • Staff will assist with enrollment once YC enrollment application is complete and clearance forms submitted.
  • Cashier:  530-741-6724 or lelliot@yccd.edu

The Arrest and Firearms (PC 832) course consists of two components, which total a minimum of 64 hours. The Arrest component has a 40-hour requirement, and the Firearms component has a 24-hour requirement. These components are divided into 14 individual topics, called Learning Domains. The Learning Domains contain the minimum required foundational information for given subjects. The training and testing specifications for a particular domain may also include information on required instructional activities and testing requirements. The specific learning domains are identified in the PC 832 training specifications.